Shalom Christian Academy defeats McConnellsburg to win F-M Tournament

Shalom Christian Academy defeated McConnellsburg 69-64 in the championship game of the Fannett Metal Christmas Tournament. Spartans Head Coach Joshua Lowery commented “Unfortunately, the end result did not go our way we suffered our first loss”

Leading scorer for the Spartans was Kole Truax with 15 points 8 rebounds, Kyle Romig 13 points 13 rebounds, 4 assist, Landon Ramsey 9 points 2 steals 2 assist, Wyatt Hershey 9 points 3 assist, 5 rebounds, Dom Jefferson 8 points 3 assist, Braydon Ramsey 7 METAL points, 8 rebounds 4 steals Drew Mellott 4 points 2 steals.

FANNETT METAL:  The Tigers(0-6) lost their opening round game on Tuesday evening 75-32 to the Flames from Shalom Christian Academy.  The Flames shot the ball extremely well and forced several turnovers in rolling to the decisive victory.  Evan Wingert led the Tigers in scoring with 14 points followed by Broc Hostler with 10 points.  Jake Coffman chipped in 4 points and 4 steals.  Landon Arnold added 8 rebounds.  The Flames put four players in double figures led by Noah Lehman with 15 points.

In the Consolation Game, the Tigers lost 67-47 to Maryland School of the Deaf.  The Tigers led 12-7 after the first quarter but trailed 29-23 at the half.  The Orioles built on their lead in the second half and pulled away for the victory.  “Coming in to the season we knew every game would be a battle for us.  Tuesday night we just got hammered by a better team.  On Wednesday night we competed and executed better but still made too many untimely mistakes to win ”, Coach Paul Coffman said.  Sophomore Broc Hostler led the Tigers with 14 points and 5 steals.  Evan Wingert had 10 points and 10 rebounds.  Riley Martin made it back to the lineup and had 8 points and 8 rebounds.  Drew Goshorn also had 8 points while Jake Coffman had 3 points and a pair of steals. Landon Arnold and Daxton Detweiler each added 2 points.
Shalom Christian Academy won the Tournament with a 69-64 victory over Mcconnellsburg.  Shalom’s Bryce Martin was the Tournament MVP.  All Tournament Team Selections were Landon Ramsey(MCC), Connor Roseman(SCA), Noah Lehman(SCA), Kole Truax (MCC), Zion Ortiz(MSD) and Broc Hostler(F-M).