6 area 3A wrestlers ready for District 3 tourney

The new-look District 3 wrestling championships will take place Saturday at Spring Grove H.S., with only eight-man brackets.

The top three wrestlers in each weight will advance to the new Super Regional, to be held March 6 at Altoona H.S. There, they will compete against wrestlers from the Southwest Region (WPIAL, District 7) and the Northwest Region and the top four from that event qualify for the PIAA Championships.

Six Franklin County wrestlers qualified for the District 3 tournament at the sections last week. Below are the brackets for those weights.

120 pounds
Kevin Rodriguez, Wilson (20-2) vs. Mark Paradine, Cedar Cliff (15-3)
Seamus Mack, Hempfield (24-4) vs. Mason Leiphart, Dover (18-0)
Karl Shindledecker, Chambersburg (16-0) vs. Gavin Richard, Daniel Boone (15-2)
Zach Luckenbaugh, Dallastown (17-3) vs. Josh Hillard, Manheim Twp. (19-0)

126 pounds
Dominic Jurado, Wilson (20-2) vs. Reese Polulak, Red Land (15-5)
Aliazer Alicea, Manheim Twp. (18-2) vs. Ivan Vega, Spring Grove (18-2)
Luke Mentzer, Chambersburg (16-3) vs. Stephen Spitko, Daniel Boone (15-1)
Wyatt Dillon, Dover (10-5) vs. Matt Repos, Central Dauphin (19-1)

138 pounds
J.T. Hogan, Daniel Boone (15-0) vs. Dominic Frontino, Shippensburg (14-2)
Ronnie Fulton, Solanco (14-6) vs. Caden Dobbins, Dallastown (20-2)
Anthony Colangelo, Chambersburg (20-4) vs. Aiden Swann, Cocalico (12-8)
Bodie Rouzer, Waynesboro (16-7) vs. Josh Miller, Central Dauphin (19-1)

172 pounds
Tucker Hogan, Daniel Boone (16-0) vs. Bay Blaschak, Northern York (15-4)
Ethan Pae, Central Dauphin (10-8) vs. Thomas Dressler, Spring Grove (19-1)
Tate Nichter, Chambersburg (18-2) vs. Johnny Miller, Exeter Twp. (20-2)
Nathan Ridgley, Gettysburg (20-7) vs. Andrew Vogelbacher, McCaskey (18-0)